In some cases, multiple Salesforce users may be working with the same Salesforce records in parallel, causing potential conflicts. When multiple users make updates to the same field, it's the most recent change uploaded to the Salesforce server that takes precedence.

With the above rule in mind, it's important to note that when a user is offline, the time at which a change is actually uploaded to the Salesforce Platform may come later than the time the user makes the change in the app. The time the user is online again is what is implemented as the time of change in Salesforce. The examples below illustrate how sync conflicts are handled. 



A web and online mobile user edit the same record 


As the mobile user is online, the changes are synced to the Salesforce Platform straightaway and there is no sync conflict. Therefore, the most recent change made to the record – whether on the web or a mobile device – will be implemented. 


A web user updates the Priority field of a Visit to "Medium" at 14:09, and the mobile user updates the Priority field to "High" at 14:30. The Priority of the Visit will be set to "High" on the Salesforce Platform. 



A web and offline mobile user edit the same record 


The time that the mobile user is online again is considered the time of updating the field, not the actual time the update was made whilst offline. If the time at which the mobile user is online again is after the time at which the web user edited the field, then the mobile user's changes are recorded on the Salesforce Platform as the most recent. 


A web user updates the Priority field of a Visit to "Medium" at 14:09 while offline. The web user updates the Priority of the Visit to "High" at 14:12. The mobile user goes online at 13:00. The Visit's Priority will be set to "High" on the Salesforce Platform. 



An offline mobile user edits a record that a web user has deleted 


If a record is deleted while the mobile user is offline and editing that record, when the user goes online again there will be an error in the Pending Changes tab indicating sync failure. 


An offline mobile user is updating a Note they had previously created whilst online. A web user then goes on to delete the Note while the user is still offline. 


To clear the message from the Pending Changes Queue, mobile users should navigate to Settings > Synchronise > Pending Changes, swipe left on the error and select Undo.